Saluting a Savvy Story Teller

A Salute to the TravellinLady

Last November was the first time I ever got my passport stamped. I traveled east across the Atlantic with a small team of Canadian communicators who were passionate story tellers, well connected in the co-op community.

While mud-bogging through northern Uganda in an astro safari van; I lost myself in the lush terrain and in my own idea jungle of beautiful possibilities. While I planned to tell my stories from the field through public speaking engagements and newsletter articles, a few others on the trip were dedicated bloggers.

_______________________________________________________________

JennLacey

Jenn was a fellow night owl traveler who didn’t mind sacrificing sleep to share a great story. There was many nights (or mornings really) after a chat on the patio that Jenn would fight with an internet connection to keep her readers engaged. The TravellinLady is an inspiration to me because she really knows how to authentically connect with her audience.

I would like to dedicate my first blog post to Jenn Smith Nelson. I have a feeling over the next few months I will think of you and Deborah and our Nile Specials and Pasta Wines as I learn what it means to be a blogger. Above my admiration for you as an adventurer though, I really want to thank you for helping me see freelance writing as a possibility for empowering me as a young woman.
_______________________________________________________________

Thank you to all my friends at the Canadian Co-operative Association, Uganda Co-operative Alliance and from the Telling Our Story, Uganda mission for pointing me in the right direction. I am so blessed to be a part of the SACCO movement in Africa and cannot wait to begin sharing my experiences in Malawi!

IMG_0366IMG_0175 IMG_1500IMG_0416

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Saluting a Savvy Story Teller

  1. Lacey, I am so excited for you and so proud. Thank you for the above honor.

    Although remembering my wifi nightmares still brings back moments of frustration and anxiousness it all worked out in the end.

    Best of luck on your journey and I look forward to reading all about it here.

    Xoxo
    Jsn

    • laceychyz says:

      Hahah I am anticipating the same frustrations but I can’t wait to really be living in Malawi with it’s amazing change of pace. I hope my blog, along with my private journal, will help me really make the most of my experience.

  2. Monique Wagner says:

    Looking forward to reading all about your adventures Lacey

  3. isabellehetu says:

    I am also looking forward to reading your stories. All the best to you on this journey!!!!!

  4. I’m so excited for you, Lacey. And I’ll be avidly reading this space! Best of luck to you – I’m sure you’ll have a blast.

Leave a Reply

